Thursday, June 29, 2006

Cabot Prize Winners for Latin American Journalism Announced

Four journalists and writers were announced as winners the 2006 Maria Moors Cabot Prizes for coverage of Latin American Affairs this morning at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism. The awards are given to journalists whose coverage of Latin America “demonstrated a commitment to freedom of the press and inter-American understanding”; it is the oldest international award for journalism.

This year's recipients were independent journalist/writer Mario Vargas Llosa; Ginger Thompson, the Mexico City Bureau Chief for The New York Times; Jose Hamilton Ribeiro, a special reporter for TV Globo, Brazil; and Matt Moffett, the South American correspondent for The Wall Street Journal. Each winner will receive the Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium at a dinner ceremony at Columbia University in October.

You can find the full article here

No comments:

Post a Comment