Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Semana Negra de Gijón Prizes

Spanish writers Lorenzo Silva, José Ovejero and José Ángel Mañas and Cuban Leonardo Padura are the four finalists for the International Dashiell Hammett Prize for Novel, that will be announced next July 14th in the XIX the edition of the Semana Negra de Gijón.

The prize for the best crime novel published in Spanish in 2005, where selected Las Vidas Ajenas (Other People's Lives) by José Ovejero; Las neblinas del ayer (The fogs of yesterday) by Leonardo Padura; El caso Karen (The Karen Case) by José Ángel Mañas, and La reina sin espejo (The Queen Without Mirror) by Lorenzo Silva.
For the International Rodolfo Walsh Prize for non-fiction for the best work of criminal subject written in Spanish in 2005, the finalists are the Argentinean Juan Gasparini with La fuga del Brujo (The Flight of the Wizard) and Ignacio Martínez de Pisón's Enterrar a los muertos (To Bury the Dead)

The Memorial Prize Silverio Cañada for best the first black novel written in Spanish where selected Tiempo de Alacranes (Time of the Scorpions) by Mexican Bernardine Fernandez; El manuscrito de Dios (The Manuscript of God) by Juan Biedma; Las neblinas de Almagro by Mexican Eduardo Monteverde and El tiempo escondido (The Hidden Time) by the Spanish Joaquín M. Barrero.

Semana Negra Official Website

No comments:

Post a Comment