Wednesday, January 18, 2006

47th Casa de las Américas Prize jury presented

It being the 47 edition of the Prize, said Jorge Fornet, director of the Casa’s Center for Literary Research, "one cannot avoid yielding to the temptation of figures: over the years 23,328 works have been entered for competition; 1,160 Latin American and Caribbean intellectuals have participated as jury members and 314 works have been awarded prizes.

"It is that vote of confidence in a competition that cannot offer much else than its prestige, which is what explains our survival."

On this occasion, the competition is in five categories: poetry (200), short story (80), historical-social essay (25), Brazilian literature (essay and testimony, 60), and Caribbean literature in English or Creole (10).

The poetry jury is made up of Douglas Bohórquez (Venezuela), Horacio Salas (Argentina), Nicolás Suescún (Colombia), Natalia Toledo (Mexico) and Georgina Herrera (Cuba).

The Short Story Prize will be selected by Vicente Battista (Argentina), Mario Mendoza (Colombia), David Toscaza (Mexico), Horacio Verzi (Uruguay), and Laidi Fernández de Juan (Cuba).

In Historical-Social Essay, the jury is made up of Alberto Acosta (Ecuador), Claudia Briones (Argentina), Gisela Cánepa (Peru), and Eduardo Torres Cuevas (Cuba); while that of Brazilian literature is made up of Brazilians José Murilo de Carvalho and Evelina Dagnino and Portuguese Boaventura de Sousa Santos.

Caribbean literature has an equally luxury jury, with writers Joceline Clemencia (Curacao), Velma Pollard (Jamaica) and Margarita Mateo (Cuba).

The results of the 47th edition of the Casa Prize will be announced on January 26.

You can find the full article here.

No comments:

Post a Comment