Sunday, January 29, 2006

Casa de Las Americas Awards

Chilean Raul Zurita, Dominican Marcio Veloz Maggiolo, and Portuguese Boaventura de Sousa Santos won on Friday the 2006 extraordinary Casa de Las Americas award in poetry, narration, and essay.

The winners of Jose Lezama Lima (poetry), Ezequiel Martinez Estrada (essay) and Jose Maria Arguedas (narration) awards were announced at a ceremony in the Che Guevara Hall of that cultural institution.

Raul Zurita won the Lezama Lima award for his INRI book of poems, which the jury praised.

Marcio Veloz Maggiolo won the award for his La Mosca Soldado (The Soldier Fly) novel.

Boaventura de Sousa Santos was awarded for raising a universal issue in a controversial way, abridging some of the most acute conflicts in current public policies.

The extraordinary Casa de Las Americas honorary awards have been granted for six years to the best books in the mentioned genres.

You can find the article here

No comments:

Post a Comment